IN RECOGNITION OF the 8th District of Wisconsin’s First Responders of the Year

October 21, 2019
Wisconsinite of the Week




October 21st, 2019

Madam Speaker, I rise today during First Responders Appreciation Month to recognize ten first responders from Wisconsin’s 8th District who received the Wisconsin State Assembly’s First Responder of the Year award. The Assembly selected and recognized the nominees below for their heroic actions, professional achievement, body of work, and length of service within the field of public safety:

The late Mitchell Lundgaard, Appleton Fire Department; Joseph Wesoloski, Ashwaubenon Department of Public Safety; Dan Rettler, Black Creek Fire Department; Lt. Jeff Engelbrecht, Green Bay Police Department; Sgt. William Tedlie, Greenville Police Department; Chief Al Tlachac, Luxemburg Community Fire Department; Chief Rick Badgley, Peshtigo Police Department; TJ Schrank, Riverview Volunteer Fire Department; Mary Beck, Shawano County Dispatch Center; and Sgt. Brandon Leschke, Weyauwega Police Department and Weyauwega Area Fire Department.

First responders represent the best and bravest in our communities. These heroes selflessly give their time and skills to protect and serve others. I am proud to represent men and women with such a commitment to their communities and who prioritize the welfare of others before their own. Their unwavering devotion to fostering safe and strong communities is truly inspiring.

Madam Speaker, I urge all members of this body to join me in thanking these first responders for their service and dedication to protecting our communities. Thank you, Madam Speaker, I yield back.

Office Locations