Gallagher Selected to Serve on New Congressional China Task Force

May 7, 2020
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI) today was appointed by Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy to serve on a new Congressional task force on China. The task force is made up of 15 members across 14 House committees and will devise a legislative strategy on China policy, including setting policy priorities and developing a coordinated approach to getting key legislation signed into law.

“Today we find ourselves in the midst of a generational struggle that threatens not only our national security, but the freedoms and values we hold as Americans,” said Rep. Gallagher. “The Chinese Communist Party’s response to the Coronavirus is just a taste of the dystopian future they seek: one where they imprison dissenters, use their dominance of critical industries to coerce other countries, all the while commandeering international authorities to normalize their malevolent behavior. The need for a whole of society strategy to counter their totalitarian future is more urgent than ever, and I’m proud to join my colleagues in this effort.”

After appointing Rep. Gallagher to the task force, Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy said, “Mike is an obvious choice for the China Task Force. As a former Marine Corps intelligence officer, he has proven himself as a member of the Armed Services Committee and shown an impressive tenacity as a lawmaker, particularly with regards to China. In the past few weeks alone, he has introduced legislation to hold the CCP accountable for trade violations, espionage, and human rights abuses. For as long as I’ve known him, Mike has been an innovative policymaker, close student of history, and proud patriot. I know he will not rest until America is safer and stronger now and in the future.”

The committee will be chaired by the Ranking Member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, Michael McCaul (R-TX). In addition to Rep. Gallagher, the following members will serve on the task force:

Liz Cheney (WY-At-large)
Darin LaHood (IL-18)
Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14)
Elise Stefanik (NY-21)
Andy Barr (KY-6)
Adam Kinzinger (IL-16)
Michael Waltz (FL-6)
Anthony Gonzalez (OH-16)
Denver Riggleman (VA-5)
John Curtis (UT-3)
John Joyce (PA-13)
Chris Stewart (UT-2)
Jim Banks (IN-3)

For more information on the task force, you can watch Leader McCarthy’s Press Conference on the topic HERE.


Office Locations