Gallagher, Sánchez Introduce Resolution to Honor Vietnam War Veterans

March 24, 2021
Press Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Reps. Mike Gallagher (R-WI) and Linda T. Sánchez (D-CA) yesterday introduced a bipartisan resolution designating the last Saturday of March as “Welcome Home Vietnam Veterans Day.” This resolution provides long-overdue recognition to thousands of Vietnam War veterans for their dedicated service to our country. The last Saturday of March, which this year falls on March 27, is intended to recognize the day when the last U.S. combat troops completed their service and left Vietnam. 
“Vietnam veterans did not receive the welcome home they deserved. While our country has come a long way in celebrating the men and women in our armed forces, it’s past time to honor the courage and sacrifice those who served in Vietnam,” said Rep. Gallagher. “I’m proud to join Rep. Sanchez in this effort to ensure these veterans get the long-overdue recognition they earned for their service to our country.” 
“Those who risk their lives in uniform for our nation deserve nothing less than a hero’s welcome when they return,” said Rep. Sánchez. Unfortunately, far too many who served in Vietnam never received that welcome, and instead were met with hostility fueled by public debate about the war. This resolution honors the heroes who served in Vietnam the way they should have always been honored. I have introduced this resolution every Congress since I was elected and I am proud to do so again alongside colleagues on both side of the aisle.”
Upon returning home from Vietnam, many veterans were denied the proper recognition for their service due to ongoing public and political debate. Some veterans were even attacked personally, contributing to already existing physical and emotional injury. This resolution honors the millions of Americans who served their country and were denied a hero’s welcome when they returned to the United States. 
The resolution is cosponsored by Reps. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Lucy McBath (D-GA), Gregory Steube (D-FL), Grace F. Napolitano (D-CA), Tedd Budd (R-NC), Steve Cohen (D-TN), John Carter (R-TX), Scott Peters (D-CA), Nikema Williams (D-GA), Jim Baird (R-NC), Al Lawson (D-FL), Filemon Vela (D-TX), Don Young (R-AK), and Jim Himes (D-CT).
You can read the full resolution here

Office Locations