Gallagher, Colleagues Call for Hold on Secretary of Commerce Nomination

February 2, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC — Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI-08) today joined 20 members of the House in calling on the Senate to pause Governor Gina Raimondo's nomination to serve as Secretary of Commerce until the Biden Administration gives a clear and direct answer regarding whether they plan to keep Huawei on the Commerce Department's Entity List. The move comes after Governor Raimondo refused to commit to keeping Huawei on the Entity List during her confirmation hearing, and White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki refused to make a commitment when asked the question in two separate press briefings. The Senate Commerce Committee is expected to vote on the nomination tomorrow.


In a joint statement, the members said:


“The fact that the Biden Administration has still refused to commit to keeping Huawei on the Department of Commerce’s Entity List is incredibly alarming and dangerous. There have been repeated, bipartisan calls to keep Huawei on the Entity List in the past, with Members on both sides of the aisle referring to the company as a national security threat. We urge those Senators who have a history of calling for Huawei to remain on the Entity List to stick to their principles and place a hold on Ms. Raimondo’s confirmation until the Biden Administration clarifies their intentions for Huawei and on export control policies for a country that is carrying out genocide and threatening our national security.”


Additionally, the members also released a document highlighting how Huawei poses a national security threat and the many bipartisan calls for it to remain on the Entity List – including calls from senior Democrats and Republicans in the U.S. Senate.


Rep. Gallagher was joined in this effort by:


·     Rep. Michael McCaul (TX-10)

·     Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03)

·     Rep. Andy Barr (KY-06) 

·     Rep. Ken Buck (CO-04)

·     Rep. Tim Burchett (TN-02)

·     Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01)

·     Rep. Scott Fitzgerald (WI-05)

·     Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01)

·     Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI-08)

·     Rep. Mark Green (TN-07)

·     Rep. Ronny Jackson (TX-13)

·     Rep. John Joyce (PA-13)

·     Rep. Young Kim (CA-39)

·     Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11)

·     Rep. Dan Meuser (PA-09)

·     Rep. María Elvira Salazar (FL-27)

·     Rep. Greg Steube (FL-17)

·     Rep. Chris Stewart (UT-02)

·     Rep. Ann Wagner (MO-02)

·     Rep. Michael Waltz (FL-06)

·     Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-02)



Last Congress, Rep. Gallagher introduced bipartisan legislation that would have codified Huawei's place on the Commerce Department's Entity List into law. He also introduced bipartisan legislation to freeze Huawei out of the U.S. financial system and protect U.S. financial markets from PLA-associated firms like Huawei.


Office Locations