Gallagher Announces Winners of Congressional Art Competition

July 8, 2020
Press Release

GREEN BAY, WI — Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI) today announced the winners of the 2020 Congressional Art Competition. The competition, held annually each spring, allows high school students to showcase their artistic talent across each congressional district. Since the competition began in 1982, over 650,000 students have participated. Kennedy Lee, who attends Appleton West High School, was selected as this year’s winner for her submission, “Hmong Women With Pearl Earring.”

In a video announcing the winners of the competition, Rep. Gallagher said, "I’d like to thank all students, teachers and parents who participated in the Art Competition this year. This year we received 79 submissions from 67 students, which was the most we’ve received since I’ve been in office. It is incredible to see that many students participating, and as always, I was blown away by the quality of each submission. We have a ton of talented students in our community."

Those who received awards include:

First Place: "Hmong Woman With Pearl Earring" by Kennedy Lee of Appleton West High School

Second Place: "Series of Butterflies" by Elizabeth Schaal of Wausaukee High School

Third Place: "Fly Me Up To The Moon" by Alexia Folkman of Bonduel High School

Honorable mention: "Running Out of Time" by Courtney Peterson of Wausaukee High School

Honorable mention: "At Coffee Cafes" by Gaokia Moua of Renaissance School of the Arts

Honorable mention: "Red" by Macey Goodrich of Bay Port High School

People’s Choice Award: "Gen 4" by Benjamin Sprangers of Kaukauna High School

People's Choice Award Runner-Up: "Billie" by Megan Kleinheinz of Winneconne High School

All submissions will be featured in a virtual exhibit on the Neville Public Museum's website, which can be viewed HERE. The winning artwork from each district is put on display for one year in the U.S. Capitol. Rep. Gallagher displays the second place piece of artwork in his Washington, D.C. office, and the third place piece in his De Pere Office. The winners are determined by a group of local judges.


Office Locations